CFV: Project sponsorship: Small language changes

Jonathan Gibbons Jonathan.Gibbons at Sun.COM
Fri Feb 13 10:45:27 PST 2009


Thank you for your concern.  As far as I know, there  is no issue here 
other than the sometimes glacial pace at which things happen. I would 
look to Joe's blog for the latest news on this project, and I presume 
that he will have the repositories created when there is something to 
put in them.

-- Jon

Neal Gafter wrote:
> Jonathan-
> It's been two months since this project was approved.  The 
> announcements section on does not reflect the 
> creation of this project, and there isn't yet any repository or 
> mailing list.  I hope there isn't a problem?
> Regards,
> Neal
> On Tue, Dec 9, 2008 at 5:49 PM, Jonathan Gibbons 
> <Jonathan.Gibbons at <mailto:Jonathan.Gibbons at>> wrote:
>     The vote is already almost unanimous, with the following having
>     all voted
>     in favor:
>         Alex, Maurizio, Joe, Neal, Jonathan, John and Kumar
>     Therefore I am calling the result early, and am pleased to announce
>     the Compiler Group will sponsor this Project.
>     -- Jon
>     Jonathan Gibbons wrote:
>>     Question: Should the Compiler Group sponsor the proposed 
>>              "Small language changes for JDK 7" Project [1]?
>>     Please cast your vote by replying, publicly, to this message with
>>     either
>>     Vote: yes
>>     or
>>     Vote: no
>>     as the first line of the message body.
>>     You may, at your option, indicate the reason for your decision on
>>     subsequent lines.
>>     Votes must be cast in the open; votes sent as private replies will
>>     not be counted.
>>     The sponsorship decision will be made by a simple majority vote of
>>     the Group's Members.  Votes are due by midnight UTC next Monday,
>>     15 December.  As an optimization, if an absolute majority of the
>>     Group's Members votes one way or the other prior to that time then
>>     the decision may be rendered earlier.
>>     Only Members of the Compiler' Group are eligible to vote on this
>>     decision.  The current Members are:
>>        Alex Buckley
>>        Maurizio Cimadamore
>>        Iris Clark
>>        Joe Darcy
>>        Neal Gafter
>>        Jonathan Gibbons
>>        John Rose
>>        Kumar Srinivasan
>>     Once a decision has been made the votes will be summarized and
>>     reported to this list and also to discuss at
>>     <mailto:discuss at>.
>>     -- Jon
>>     [1]

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...

More information about the compiler-dev mailing list