CFV: New Project: Galahad

Hohensee, Paul hohensee at
Tue Jan 24 00:27:30 UTC 2023

Vote: yes.

On 1/23/23, 10:46 AM, "announce on behalf of Douglas Simon" <announce-retn at on behalf of doug.simon at> wrote:

    I hereby propose the creation of a new Project, Galahad, with me as the
    Lead and the HotSpot Group as sponsor.

    Galahad's primary goal is to contribute Java-related GraalVM
    technologies to the OpenJDK Community and prepare them for possible
    incubation in a JDK main-line release.

    For further details, please see the call for discussion [1].

    I work at Oracle Labs on GraalVM [2] with a particular focus on the
    Graal compiler. I have previously led the OpenJDK Graal project [3].

    I propose that the initial Reviewers of this Project include Gergo
    Barany, Gilles Duboscq, Christian Humer, Vojin Jovanovic, David
    Leopoldseder, Tom Rodriguez, Christian Wimmer and Thomas Wuerthinger.
    The initial set of committers will be Kim Barrett, Alan Bateman,
    William Blair, Larry Cable, Eric Caspole, Roberto Castaneda Lozano,
    Mandy Chung, Andrew Dinn, Erik Duveblad, Josef Eisl, Francois Farquet,
    Damon Fenacci, Thomas Garcia, Severin Gehwolf, Aleksandar Gradinac,
    Ian Graves, Christian Haeubl, Christian Hagedorn, Tobias Hartmann,
    Chris Hegarty, Dan Heidinga, Peter Hofer, Tobias Holenstein, David
    Holmes, Magnus Ihse Bursie, Alexander Ilin, Vladimir Ivanov, Erik
    Joelsson, Stefan Johansson, Stefan Karlsson, Roman Kennke, Vladimir
    Kozlov, Vijay Kulkarni, Ioi Lam, Fengyun Liu, Dean Long, Ashutosh
    Mehra, Alex Menkov, David Nestorovic, Mattias Neugschwandtner, Fabio
    Niephaus, Erik Osterlund, Loic Ottet, Ekaterina Pavlova, Aleksandar
    Pejovic, Emanuel Peter, Alfonso Peterssen, Coleen Phillimore, Chris
    Plummer, Aleksandar Prokopec, Claes Redestad, Ivan Ristovic, John
    Rose, Roland Schatz, Thomas Schatzl, Christoph Schobesberger, Tom
    Shull, Boris Spasojevic, Serguei Spitsyn, Lukas Stadler, Codrut
    Stancu, Jovan Stevanovic, Simon Tooke, Robert Toyonaga, Bernhard
    Urban-Forster, Igor Veresov, Jorn Vernee, Mikael Vidstedt, Roland
    Westrelin, Christian Wirth, Paul Woegerer, Foivos Zakkak, Sonia
    Zaldana Calles, Galder Zamarreno, Yudi Zheng and Patrick Ziegler.

    Votes are due by 23:59 UTC on Tuesday, 7 Feb 2023.

    Only current OpenJDK Members [4] are eligible to vote on this motion.
    Votes must be cast in the open on the discuss list. Replying to this
    message is sufficient if your mail program honors the Reply-To header.

    For Lazy Consensus voting instructions, see [5].

    - Doug


More information about the discuss mailing list